[2022-09-02] Capturing stories

Yesterday's newsletter by Atomic Habits author James Clear included this intriguing passage:

Most good material is forgotten.

Write down the funniest or most interesting thing that happens to you each day. Most days will be boring, but if you write something each day, then you'll have 5 to 10 entertaining stories within a year or two. People are sitting on more funny stories than they realize because they do not have a habit of capturing humorous things as they happen.

Write down one idea each day. Most ideas will be simple and uninteresting, but within a year you'll have a handful that are compelling and useful. Little bits of genius are bubbling up all the time, but you need a habit of recording your ideas in order to capture the good ones.

It's a myth that great storytellers only think of great stories or that insightful people only have brilliant ideas. But they do have a habit of capturing their experiences and insights, and the patience to filter the majority until the best remain.

It's not evident why Clear is recommending that people write down their funny or interesting stories in particular, but I do support his idea of recording noteworthy occurrences from one's day to capture experiences and insights in general. Clear's idea reminds me of keeping a gratitude journal, wherein I would record three things I'm grateful for each day, only in this case, I would note a few humorous or unusual things. As with the practice of a gratitude journal, I imagine that I would start to notice amusing and remarkable events more readily.

Like most people, I forget many of the enjoyable incidences that happen in my life, even ones that I've shared in my blog. When I reread a story from Jenesis, the occasion comes back to me, but I struggle to keep colourful anecdotes in my working memory. I sometimes remember funny stories when someone else tells a tale that reminds me of a story from my life. However, even then, my recollection is often short on details.

I've always loved listening to people who can tell vivid stories, remembering people, places and dialogue in great detail. I have a few friends who excel at this, and I've often encouraged them to write down their stories. I'm certain that their children would love to have a record of their parents' adventures.

Perhaps that's why Clear's idea stuck out in my mind. I mentioned this concept to my daughter today but had already forgotten the source of the idea even though I had read it only yesterday. Remembering and recording my stories is a gift I can give to my children. That's more compelling to me than the idea of having "5 to 10 entertaining stories within a year or two."

Since I'm already in the habit of recording my daily accomplishments, I can simply add an entertaining entry to each day's log.

Today, my daughter and I met two dogs on our morning walk. We took pictures with both. The second dog, Maple, proved to be exceptionally photogenic. I managed to capture two great pics: one with Mel asking Maple to give her his paw, and one where both Mel and Maple are looking directly into the camera. It was a lovely moment, rendered more memorable by virtue of my having taken a picture of it.