[2022-09-03] Saturday Synopsis #7

Story of the week: The Owl Cafe and Meeting Place
One of my most memorable moments this week was yesterday's visit to the The Owl Cafe and Meeting Place with my daughter. I loved the organization's mission as soon as Mel told me about it:

The Owl Café and Meeting Place is one of Ottawa’s only social enterprises that specifically hires and trains staff and interns on the autism spectrum. The café also takes in interns through Y’s Owl Maclure’s 12-week job readiness training program, which provides people with in-class instruction and practical experience. When they graduate, they are offered employment at the café.

I wanted to go to the cafe simply because of its objective. I wasn't expecting such delicious coffee and baked goods. As I shared in my Instagram post, I enjoyed one of the best decaf lattés I had ever had along with to-die-for desserts: a warm-from-the-oven banana-chocolate chip muffin and a life-changing butter tart square. And the service we received from Sam and Owen was attentive and positive. We will go back. The cafe is located at 1140 Morrison Drive in Ottawa, just up the road from Lee Valley Tools.

Quote of the week: Language
Today I chatted with my new neighbour. She speaks Portuguese and some English. I speak English and, until a few weeks ago, zero Portuguese. But I've been learning some Portuguese words and grammar using the app Duolingo. I'm on a 19-day streak. Will I learn Portuguese using this method? Probably not. But does my attempt to learn even a little demonstrate respect for my neighbour? Unquestionably. I shared with her one of my favourite quotes, by Nelson Mandela:

If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart.

My neighbour asked me whether I was a teacher. I'm not, but that made me smile. I just really like making others feel seen and heard.

Recipe of the week: Cranberry-Pecan Squares
The butter tart square Mel and I enjoyed at The Owl Cafe and Meeting Place reminded me of a dessert I make from time to time: Cranberry-Pecan Squares. Fair warning: these are not healthy. They are pure decadence—appropriate for special occasions and for enjoying in moderation.

Song of the week: Don't Stop Believin'
This week's song is Don't Stop Believin' by Journey. Released in October 1981, when I was in grade 11, the song makes me nostalgic for my high school days. Judging by the number of listens on Spotify alone (more than 1.3 billion), it was an anthem for many.

Photo of the week: Mother-Daughter Coffee
This week's photo is of Mel and me, enjoying our lattés and goodies at The Owl Cafe and Meeting Place.