[2022-09-13] Quarterly oncology follow-up September 2022

Today, I spoke with Dr. MacAulay Vacheresse of The Ottawa Hospital for my quarterly oncology follow-up, which took just under seven minutes. We discussed my CA125 (stable at 7 or 8), my blood work (all looks good) and my overall health (very good, with no apparent side effects to my maintenance drug, such as nausea, loss of appetite, abdominal pain or bloating, bowel or bladder problems). Her notes indicate "No clinical or serologic evidence of disease recurrence 1.5 years on maintenance drug."

I asked Dr. MacAulay Vacheresse how long I will continue to take Lynparza. She said that the benefits of taking it beyond two years are unknown, as the clinical trial was for two years. She did say that some people have opted to continue taking it beyond two years, though there is limited data on the efficacy of this choice. We will have a conversation in February, when I hit the two-year mark of taking the drug, to determine whether to continue on it.

In the meantime, I will continue to do what I'm doing, and we will chat again in three months.