[2022-09-26] COVID vaccine: fifth dose

I got my fifth dose of a COVID vaccine today: the Moderna Bivalent vaccine.

My last jab was in January. Since then, I've managed to evade COVID, including this summer when my husband, son and daughter all contracted Omicron.

I know that some people are questioning the need for another booster for themselves, and I understand that. The decision to get another booster is right for me. I've continued to wear a mask in most indoor public spaces to reduce my risk of getting COVID, indeed any respiratory illness. Facing cancer twice has made me much more conscious of my vulnerability and drives me to do whatever I can to maintain my health.

As the days shorten and the nights get long, as the temperatures dip, and as the holiday season approaches, here's hoping for family-filled festivities. I'm ready.