[2022-10-05] Coming soon

A friend reached out to me today to ask that I send a link to a post I had written on cancer screening. I believe she was referring to my Breast MRI post, in which I encouraged readers to make an appointment if they were due for a breast mammogram. In that article, I provided information on guidelines for breast screening, who qualifies as high risk and how to access breast screening (with a focus on Ontario).

It reminded me that I've written many posts that provide valuable information on a range of subjects. However, after writing almost 800 posts, I don't remember all the topics I've covered, and Jenesis readers are even less likely to do so.

I've tried, unsuccessfully, to create an index of my posts, grouping them by theme. But I struggled to identify relevant headings, and I always gave up, as the task seemed overwhelming.

Sometimes, a big project feels daunting because I'm approaching it from the wrong end. Rather than try to categorize every post into appropriate headings, I've decided to start by cherry-picking those posts that provide information readers may wish to come back to (taking my own advice). Examples include a checklist of self-care activities, how to get what you need from medical appointments, and the symptoms of ovarian cancer. Using the approach of Marie Kondo, I've started going through my vast library of articles to pick out ones that should be on a best-of list. The primary criterion for including a piece in my Categories listing is whether it is useful to others.

The first category I picked was Health. If there's only one thing that readers take away from my blog, I want it to be that they pay more attention to their health.

Other potential categories are Mental Health and Career. If you have suggestions for other categories, please pass them along. I will aim to publish my new Categories page for my 800th post. Stay tuned.