[2022-11-04] I just wanted you to know

Many of us have a friend, a family member, a neighbour, a colleague, a classmate who has gone through a tough time recently. Perhaps we reached out initially to understand the challenge, to offer support and to show that we cared. Over time, as the situation improved and our fears were allayed, our communication may have become less frequent. That didn't mean we cared less. It didn't mean that we stopped worrying altogether, even as we became preoccupied with other concerns. And it didn't mean that we wouldn't jump at the chance to help if asked.

As I pondered the people in my life with whom my contact has waned, these words came to mind:

There was a time when I thought about you every day, worried about your present and your future, wondered if you were truly OK.

However, as you overcame the challenges you faced, got past the pain and seemingly came out the other side, I breathed a sigh of relief. You continued to pop into my mind, though less frequently than in those early days.

I know that my busyness is no reason not to reach out more often. I know that my worries about other people and situations shouldn't prevent me from touching base. I know that my own struggles don't preclude my letting you know that I'm still here for you.

Still, I sometimes fear that I would be bothering you, or that you'd rather hear from people who are closer to you, or that too much time has passed so it might look odd to contact you now.

Please know that while I may not call every day, I still think about you. While I may not come around as often, I still wonder how you're doing. While I may not send you cards and little gifts, I still care.

I thought of you today and instead of letting that thought drift away, like so many other thoughts I've had of you in the past, I decided to say hi. I just wanted you to know that I'm grateful you're in my life.