[2022-11-05] Saturday Synopsis #16

This week's theme is family.

Photo of the week: Selfie of a selfie 2
In Saturday Synopsis #11, I featured the first selfie of a selfie, a photo Chris mischievously orchestrated by putting his phone in the shot while I was taking a selfie of the two of us with my phone. My kids liked the resulting picture so much that they created their own selfie of a selfie this week, thus establishing a new family tradition. Their photo happened by chance. While my daughter was traveling to her office by bus, she saw her brother walking along the street. They were both headed to Gatineau where they work around the corner from each other. Mel jumped off the bus and met up with Shane. They sent me the below photo with the caption "Selfie selfie!" Of course, I loved the pic, replying "Thanks for sending that to me. #ProudMomma."

Recipe of the week: Cilantro-Garlic Sauce
Shane spent today in Kanata, which enabled us to have lunch together as a family. To go along with the tacos we prepared, I made Cilantro-Garlic Sauce. If you like cilantro and garlic, you'll love this accompaniment, which is bursting with flavour. Contrary to the recipe, I made our version with low-fat sour cream (3% milk fat).

Video of the week: Baby, puppy and help wanted
On a walk today, Mel and I talked about old home movies that Chris had recorded on a camcorder when the kids were little. I don't know how to convert analog files to digital ones (and, admittedly, haven't looked into it). But Mel suggested that I ask for help from Jenesis readers. If you've figured out how to capture and preserve old analog videos, I'd love to hear from you. As for this week's video, this one of a baby and puppy is adorable—easily my favourite from those I watched over the past week. It reflects the place pets play in our families.

Quote of the week: Love of family
I sustain myself with the love of family.
~ Maya Angelou

Song of the week: Lullaby for Wyatt
Sheryl Crow released Lullaby for Wyatt in 2008, a year after adopting her first son. She sings, "How do I keep you from losing your way? Hope you'll go out and you'll come back some day." It is such a pleasure for me to spend time with my kids.

Story of the week: Coat of arms of Governor General Mary Simon
The story that struck me most this week was the unveiling of the coat of arms of Governor General Mary Simon. The CBC story says that Simon's coat of arms "reflects her personal story and commitment to reconciliation." In a news release, Simon said: "This coat of arms is my story, my true history, and it speaks of my lifelong commitment to bridge-building and family, and of my hopes for a future where we respect and share each other's stories to help foster better relationships between peoples." Simon is both the first Indigenous person to be named Canada's Governor General and the first holder of the office to have a motto in an Indigenous language. "'Ajuinnata' is an Inuktitut word meaning 'to persevere' or never give up." The shield in the centre of the coat of arms is white, said to represent reconciliation, as well as the snow and sky of Canada's North. The Snowy Owl at the top of the coat of arms is meant to symbolize wisdom, agility and adaptability, and the caribou antlers speak to the link between humans and nature. Two arctic foxes, known for their endurance and long-distance migratory treks, flank the coat of arms and represent Simon and her career as a diplomat and advocate for circumpolar affairs. The strawberry flower on the pendant of one fox honours Simon's husband, and the harpoons pay tribute to Simon's grandmother.

As always, I wish you a wonderful week ahead.