[2022-11-12] Saturday Synopsis #17

This week's theme is children—nurturing them, appreciating them, and loving them.

Photo of the week: Drawing
This week's photo features a drawing by a young neighbour, Gustavo, who wanted to thank me for the muffins I had made for him and his family. I put the drawing on my fridge and texted his mom a photo of the artwork in its new home so that she could show her son the importance I had placed on his gift. It's been many years since I had a hand-drawn picture posted on my fridge, and it brings me joy.

Recipe of the week: Pineapple Carrot Cake
When I was a teenager, I collected recipes. One of them was Pineapple Carrot Cake, the source of which I have long forgotten. Many of the recipes I gathered in the early '80s would go on to be immortalized in our family's compilation of favourites. Pineapple Carrot Cake remains a frequently requested dessert for special occasions. Another recipe that featured prominently in our kids' childhood was Mrs Fields Malted Milk Cookies. The first time Chris made them, I thought they were so good that I renamed them Will-You-Marry-Me Cookies, which is what we call them to do this day.

Video of the week: Fancy restaurant
I adore the video We love pretending we're at a fancy restaurant when I cook. The mom treats her three children to the experience of being in a fancy restaurant: elegant clothes and hairdos, formal menus, a three-course meal, and attentive, respectful service. This would make any child feel special.

Quote of the week: Why I like you
I frequently quote L.R. Knost, founder and director of a children’s rights advocacy and family consulting group and Editor-in-Chief of Holistic Parenting Magazine. I love the advice she provided to parents in an Instagram post this week:

Take some time to tell your child you like them, and list the reasons why. Then watch in wonder as they blossom before your eyes. Words of recognition and appreciation to a child are like sunshine and rain to a flower. Remember, beautiful things grow when they are nurtured.

By way of example, Knost suggests saying to your child: "That was such a kind thing to do!" This compliment could "kindle a hundred little acts of kindness from helping a sibling pick up their toys to making a card for a sick friend to picking a bouquet of muddy wildflowers for an elderly neighbor."

Song of the week: You're Gonna Miss This
You're Gonna Miss This, sung by Trace Adkins, reminds us to enjoy the good times when our kids are young and life is chaotic.

You're gonna miss this
You're gonna want this back
You're gonna wish these days hadn't gone by so fast
These are some good times
So take a good look around
You may not know it now
But you're gonna miss this

Story of the week: Where Is The Love?
One of the memories I treasure is of a spontaneous moment some 15 years ago when Chris and I and the kids were driving around the Saguenay region of Quebec. When Where Is the Love by the Black Eyed Peas came on the radio, Shane and Mel started singing along, as they knew the lyrics to the verses. When the song reached the more melodic chorus, I chimed in, as did Chris. I still smile when I recall that carefree day, driving through the country on summer vacation, with all four of us singing:

Where is the love? (The love)
Where is the love? (The love)
Where is the love, the love, the love?

The love was right there—embodied in our little family. I sure do miss those days.