[2022-11-19] Saturday Synopsis #18

This week's theme is preparing for the holidays.

Photo of the week: Christmas tree
As I noted in last Sunday's post, I put up my Christmas tree early. I'm sure that I wouldn't do half the holiday decorating I do if it weren't for the lights. Christmas trees and wreaths and villages are not the same without twinkling lights, which bring me cheer. This year, I bought four strands of fairy lights to wrap around our three Christmas villages and a wreath my sister made for me last year. The lights are battery operated, which means I don't need to worry about accessing a power outlet. And they're on a timer: every day, at about 4:00 PM, my fairy lights turn on, casting a delicate glow in my living and dining rooms. It feels simply magical.

Inspiration of the week: Awesome letters
Today, I read an article about 5 Meaningful Acts of Kindness for the Holiday Season. The first one caught my attention: "Think of the amazing people in your life. Take an hour to write those people a letter telling them why they’re awesome. Wouldn’t you love to get a letter like that?" Whether you write one long letter to one special person or short notes to many people tucked into greeting cards, you will do a great kindness. You could say something as simple as: "I remember the time you did such-and-such, which meant a lot to me then and still does now."

Song of the week: Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
When I was a kid, we had the classic Christmas album The Original: Gene Autry Sings Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer & Other Christmas Favourites. I found the album on Spotify today, and it took me back many years. Country legend Gene Autry started most of the songs on the album with a spoken introduction. Hearing Autry say "Happy holidays, folks, wherever you may be" before launching into Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer made me smile.

Recipe of the week: Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Golden Brownies
This week's recipe of Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Golden Brownies is decades oldone I've had since my teens. It's a simple dessert that freezes well, so you could make these squares in advance of the holidays and pull them out of the freezer as needed. They taste like a chocolate-covered peanut butter cookie with chocolate chips, without the fuss of making individual cookies. The squares are baked in a 15"x10"x1" jelly roll pan, so there should be plenty to freeze and a few to enjoy right away.

Quote of the week: Make life better
"The holiday season is a perfect time to reflect on our blessings and seek out ways to make life better for those around us."
~ Author Unknown