[2022-11-27] Let them know

Today was a day for health, family, friends, writing, food, and learning. As a thank you to my young neighbour for making me a cake this week, I wrote a card for him (in Portuguese, French and English) and left it on his doorstep with some savoury snacks. I went for a walk with my husband and daughter at the Bruce Pit dog park, meeting a beautiful five-month-old Dogo Argentino named Blue. I wrote and packaged 18 Christmas cards, with personalized messages for each recipient, which will go out in tomorrow's mail. I made a lovely Beef Barley Soup, which I served with Light Wheat Rolls. And, as usual, I spent time practising and learning Brazilian Portuguese on Duolingo.

As I reflect on my day, I realize that some activities offer an immediate payoff. When my neighbours thank me for my little gift (which included the latest version of my English-Portuguese-French vocabulary table), I feel helpful. When I go for a walk with my family, I feel good, physically and emotionally. When I talk to a woman about her dog, it makes her feel happy, which, in turn, makes me feel happy. When I make a delicious dinner, my husband and daughter praise me, which makes me feel appreciated. When I use Duolingo, I see my points, my progress, and my placement relative to others in my league, which makes me feel successful.

The only activity that doesn't have an immediate payoff is sending a card through the mail. Today, I found myself asking, "Does this really make a difference? Do people enjoy receiving cards, or do they put them in the same pile of correspondence as bills and solicitations for donations? Am I wasting my time, their time and the environment?" (I sometimes have similar questions about this blog, though—thankfully—I do receive more regular feedback on what I write here than I do on cards I send through the mail.)

Early in my cancer treatment, I received many gifts and cards that were dropped off at my door or sent through the mail. I made a point to contact the sender every time to let them know their present or letter had arrived and to thank them for their thoughtfulness and generosity.

If you appreciate what someone does for you, especially when their effort is expended at a different time from your enjoyment of it, let them know. You will make their day and help to ensure that they continue to show you they care.