[2022-12-06] Mel's 30th birthday

I've had a busy few days, as it was my daughter's 30th birthday today. I did what I do best: cooked, wrote and designed.
  • I made all sorts of foods that Melanie loves: baked oatmeal, a lentil salad with goat cheese and toasted almonds, salmon cheddar macaroni, apple crisp bars.
  • I put together a list of 30 roles that Melanie plays, such as Researcher, Writer, Epicure, Friend, Learner and Teacher. Of course, my favourite role of Mel's is Daughter. I wrote: "You fill me with pride and make me feel like a success as a mom."
  • And I designed a card with photos from the past year, many of which are included in tonight's visual.
I love gifts that reflect the giver's personality and talents, gifts that say "you're worth my time," gifts that feel special because you can't buy them in a store.

Chris, Shane, Mel and I had supper together as a family, which always feels like a treat since Shane moved out a year ago. Then we went to see Magic of Lights Ottawa at Wesley Clover Parks. It was a pleasant conclusion to the day.

Making Mel's list of roles reminded me of the many roles I play. My favourite one is Mother. I love seeing my kids, listening to them, laughing with them, helping them, and watching them grow. It's astounding to think that, at only 56, I have kids in their 30s. They are amazing human beings—kind, thoughtful, considerate, responsible, smart. It was Mel's special day, but it felt equally special for me.