[2022-12-17] Saturday Synopsis #22

I don't usually come up with a theme for each Saturday Synopsis; instead, a theme often emerges organically, as I assemble what, at first, seem like disparate bits and pieces. The theme that came to light this week is appreciation of things that are old.

Stories of the week: Slow lane, chat bench, a church and a pub
A friend posted this story on social media this week, and I loved it: Supermarket chain store opens slower ‘chat checkouts’ to combat loneliness among the elderly. The article describes an initiative by Jumbo, a Netherlands-based supermarket chain, to introduce chat checkout—"a special lane for elderly or senior customers where they can check out their purchases without being rushed and even enjoy an unhurried and regular conversation with the cashier." The introduction of slow lanes supports the Dutch government's One Against Loneliness initiative.

This story led to a related one: Police create ‘chat benches’ so strangers can chat and to fight elderly isolation. Also designed to combat loneliness among older people, this initiative involved the installation of chat benches in two parks in southwest England. The benches carry signs saying: "The 'Happy to Chat' Bench: Sit here if you don't mind someone stopping to say hello!"

As I was putting the finishing touches on this post, my brother emailed to tell me about 98-year-old Mindy Hurley, who was featured in a story on CTV that he saw this evening. In addition to going to church every Sunday, Mindy heads to a pub in her hometown of Waterloo. She watches football, is a regular in the football pool, and enjoys some chicken wings and a pint. Though she is a three-time cancer survivor and lost her husband and adopted son, she remains positive. She says, "You've got to have a little bit of everything in life, really, church and the pub. Get happy at church, get happy at the pub, that's it."

Quote of the week: Batteries
This morning, a friend sent me a quote by Rachel Dansby Freeman:

When a flashlight grows dim or quits working, do you just throw it away? Of course not. You change the batteries. When a person messes up or finds themselves in a dark place, do you cast them aside? Of course not! You help them change their batteries.

Some need AA…attention and affection; some need AAA…attention, affection, and acceptance; some need C….compassion; some need D…direction.

And if they still don’t seem to shine…simply sit with them quietly and share your light.

The quote reminded me of two occasions this week when I happened to be in the right place at the right time to help someone. The first opportunity came while Chris and I were taking a walk. We encountered an elderly woman trying to cross a slippery sidewalk. I asked her whether she needed a hand. She did. I gave her my arm, and she held on to me until we were safely across the path and she was once again on dry pavement.

Later that same day, while Melanie and I were out for a quick lunchtime walk, we came across a teenager who was trying to get her six-month-old Golden Retriever to follow her home. The puppy was pulling in the direction of a dog that was frolicking across the field from his owner. As we approached the girl, her dog sank to his belly, which made me wonder whether it was injured. "Is your dog OK?" I asked. "Oh yes," she said, "he just doesn't want to go home." I glanced at her bare legs; she was wearing shorts, obviously not anticipating a long stay outside. "Well, we have to get you home," I said. I started clapping my hands and calling to the puppy in an excited, high-pitched voice. "Come on," I encouraged him. He followed me, running and occasionally jumping at me, but I was quick. It didn't take much to distract the puppy from the other dog, and the girl was soon on her way, jogging across the street to her home, the puppy in tow.

Sometimes it takes very little effort to help someone change their batteries.

Recipe of the week: Nutritious Muffins
This week, I made one of my oldest recipes: Nutritious Muffins. I believe the recipe came from a tearway pad that the health food store in Almonte had next to its products. The store had all sorts of recipes scattered about the store. It was such a brilliant way to encourage people to buy what they were selling. The muffins call for bran, rolled oats, whole wheat flour, soy flour, wheat germ, raisins, and sunflower and sesame seeds. They make an excellent breakfast muffin. For this week's batch, I used sesame milk that we had bought but didn't like enough to drink. No food waste and healthy muffins. Win, win.

Laugh of the week: The face of a fourteenth-century poisoner
Among the bedtime stories I listened to recently was a lesser known book by Agatha Christie: The Man in the Brown Suit, published in 1924. As I was drifting off to sleep, I heard this:

Guy Pagett is my secretary, a zealous, painstaking, hard-working fellow, admirable in every respect. I know no one who annoys me more. For a long time I have been racking my brains as to how to get rid of him. But you cannot very well dismiss a secretary because he prefers work to play, likes getting up early in the morning, and has positively no vices. The only amusing thing about the fellow is his face. He has the face of a fourteenth-century poisoner—the sort of man the Borgias got to do their odd jobs for them.

I almost snorted with laughter.

Song of the week: Winter Wonderland
I chose this song to bridge the theme of appreciating things that are old and the photo of the week. According to Wikipedia, Winter Wonderland was written by Felix Bernard and Richard Bernhard Smith in 1934. Since its original recording by Richard Himber, it has been covered by more than 200 artists. Here are a few of my favourite versions, old and new: Perry Como (1946), Rosemary Clooney (1949), Ella Fitzgerald (1960), Bing Crosby (1962), Michael Bublé (2012), Hannah Kerr (2018), and a jazzy instrumental by the Grayville Trio (2020).

Photo of the week: Go stand under that tree
This week's photo may not be entirely in keeping with the theme, but I will say that walking in a winter wonderland never gets old. "Go stand under that tree," I said to Mel this morning while we were strolling among the snow-laden trees. She did, and got a small shower of snow on her cap and down her neck. But that didn't deter her or me from enjoying a gorgeous walk in nature. This is the kind of day that can make you fall in love with winter.

Have a frolicking weekend and a peaceful week ahead.