[2022-12-19] An average day

The Mental Health Commission of Canada recently published an infographic offering Holiday Self-Care Tips. Among the suggestions was this one:

Give yourself permission to just let it be an average day.

This resonated with me. From social media to seasonal songs to magazines in the checkout line at the grocery store, we are bombarded with messages to make this year "the perfect holiday." But when expectations get heightened to unrealistic levels, disappointment often ensues. So a message that reminds us to allow the holiday to be just another day is welcomed.

For my part, Christmas has always represented more than twinkling lights, presents and family gatherings. Many years, it was the first break I had had since summer vacation—a break I desperately needed from my hectic job. Without realizing it, I engaged in self-care activities: doing projects I would not otherwise have had the time to undertake, unplugging from the stresses of the office, and spending chunks of time simply relaxing. Yes, I went to family dinners, and gave and received gifts, and decorated my house. But Christmas was mostly a time to relax.

As I get older, I find myself prioritizing peace, focusing on a short list of commitments, and adding or re-evaluating traditions to keep only the ones that serve me.

May you find serenity in this final week before the holidays.