[2023-01-08] Family photos

Today, my son gifted me one of the items on my Christmas wish list: he scanned 300 photos from my mom's photo albums, including pictures of:
  • parents, grandparents and great grandparents,
  • aunts, uncles and cousins,
  • my siblings as babies, toddlers, teenagers and adults,
  • my children and their cousins,
  • family pets, and
  • the many renovations of our family farm house.
I didn't select every one of my mom's photos for Shane to scan. For the most part, I chose ones that made me smile, or evoked positive memories, or reflected some happy moments in my life or that of the people I love.

In many cases, the scanned photos were better than the original hard copy version. Shane showed me how to edit photos to make them brighter, or to increase the contrast. I always learn from my kids when I work with them on a project.

One of the best photos I came across todaya picture I hadn't remembered existedwas of my youngest brother and me, playing in my mom's irises. The look of exuberance on his face is priceless.

As we concluded our work for the day, I thanked Shane profusely for taking the time to digitize so many pictures. Photos become more important as we age. They capture moments in our lives. They remind us of our past. And they reflect the many relationships we have developed over the years.