[2023-01-17] Take the compliment

I made focaccia today. It had been quite a few months since I had last made it.

When it came out of the oven, I wasn't sure whether I had let it rise long enough before baking it. I was afraid that it might be dense and lacking in the big air pockets that focaccia is famous for.

As it cooled on the counter, my daughter came into the kitchen, and said to me, "Ooh, your focaccia looks so good."

I was tempted to share my misgivings, but stopped myself and simply said, "Thank you." I have learned that when my response to Mel's appreciation is to share my doubts or downplay the results of my efforts, I detract from the sincerity of her praise. Instead of both feeling goodI for the outcome, and she for the complimentwe end up both feeling bad. When I do accept her applause, without reservation, I honour her and acknowledge her kind words.

Though the analogy is hardly a good one, the expression that always comes to mind when I quietly tell myself to refrain from expressing my concerns and simply accept the praise is the famous line from The Godfather: "Leave the gun, take the cannoli." I remind myself to "Leave the doubt, take the compliment."

As it turned out, my focaccia was deliciouslight and spongy and full of flavour. It would appear that my family's kudos were merited.