[2023-01-24] Look ahead

Perhaps it's a reflection of my age, but I seem to know more and more people who are facing a significant health issue. Or maybe I'm just more attuned to others' challenges, having faced a few tough ones of my own. In the past 24 hours alone, I've talked to or corresponded with three people who are at various stages of their health journey. Maybe we're all on a similar journey, only some days are less eventful than others.

As I thought about my friends, I came across Edgar Guest's poem Have You Earned Your Tomorrow, in which he writes:

Can you say tonight, in parting with the day that's slipping fast,
That you helped a single brother of the many that you passed?
Is a single heart rejoicing over what you did or said;
Does a man whose hopes were fading now with courage look ahead?

Today, I hope that I helped a brother, and a few sisters too.

Look ahead with courage, my friends. You are helping other people keep hope, take care of themselves and see what's possible.