[2023-02-12] Best job

In response to my question in last night's Saturday Synopsis #30—the best job you've ever had—a friend provided two responses. The first was a job that had allowed him to learn and develop; it was a role in another country that taught him how to work in a bureaucracy. The second was a position in which he had made a significant impact. He was the director of an NGO (non-governmental organization). In the five years he led the NGO, he increased its funding six fold, rebuilt and reinforced its network, defined a niche for the organization, put in place administrative systems, coached many interns, and met with politicians and leaders at all levels.

His answer made me rethink my own. When I had posed the question, I had thought that my answer would be the job in which I was happiest. The first such position that comes to mind was my job as a director general with the Canadian Forest Service, which was part of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan). The culture in that sector was exceptional. We were like family. We cared about the work, and we cared about each other. It wasn't perfect, of course, but the level of respect and civility in that organization was remarkable. I felt challenged and supported as well as respected and appreciated. I was free to do my job in ways that made sense to me and to bring my brand of humour and leadership to the position. I learned and grew alongside amazing colleagues and staff, and under a boss whose integrity and leadership style I admired.

I enjoyed a similar level of respect and appreciation in my first job as a director, when I headed up management services for NRCan's Energy Sector. Once again, I had a boss who valued my input and supported my approach. I started the job as an acting director, just 29 years old. I thought, and I know my boss initially thought as well, that I was a few years away from being at that level. But he needed someone to lead the division when my predecessor moved on, and he asked me to step up. Within a few months, he saw in me the kind of leader he wanted: someone who focused on meeting the needs of clients, who was willing to do whatever the organization needed, and who was able to bring out the best in staff. I would go on to win the competitive process to occupy the job permanently and to spend more than seven years in the position. I gained experience and confidence, largely because of the confidence my boss had in me.

The third position that came to mind was my last: Assistant Deputy Minister (ADM) of Communications for Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada. It was, hands down, the hardest job I did in my 33-year public service career but, in many ways, it was also the most rewarding. I believed in the mission of the two health organizations I served, and I worked hard to support my colleagues—wonderful ADMs and Vice-Presidents who were mentors to me even if they didn't realize it. I had a boss who was right for me: I felt comfortable being myself with him; I felt respected; I learned how to be an ADM with his help and patience. And I had the most hard-working, dedicated and creative staff any leader could ask for.

When I reflect on the first three jobs that came to mind in response to the question "the best job you ever had?" I see patterns: respectful bosses, nurturing colleagues, supportive employees, challenge, autonomy, encouragement, meaning, purpose, impact, appreciation, and freedom to be authentic.

In addition to answering my question, my friend made an astute observation: "It takes perspective to measure the impact of a work experience." Sometimes, we don't see how much we're growing in a role or how much of a difference we're making in a position until we move on.