[2023-02-21] Take a leap

Today, I had a conversation with a young woman who had reached out to me at the suggestion of a mutual acquaintance. She didn't know me, butin her own wordsshe screwed up her courage and sent me an email.

In her message, she mentioned that she had been reading my blog and thanked me for sharing my wisdom and experience. Then she asked: "Would you be open to a 10-15 minute virtual chat one of these days?" I responded the same day to say that I was.

Little did either of us know how much we would have in common. Her interest in my perspectiveon topics as wide-ranging as health, grief and writingreminded me of the value of sharing my story. Today's chat reaffirmed that I have empathy, knowledge and experience that is of value to others and that my blog is a treasure trove of wisdom that others can benefit from. Our 10-15 minute chat stretched into an hour, and might have gone on longer if I hadn't been summoned to supper.

While I was eating dinner with my family, the young woman sent me a thank you. Later, I replied to say, "Our conversation was an absolute pleasure for me, lifting my spirits more than you might realize."

Sometimes when we are young and inexperienced, we hold ourselves back from reaching out to people whom we perceive as older and wiser than we are, thinking that they might be too busy to talk, or not interested in connecting with a total stranger. But this young woman's willingness to set aside such worries and to send me a message is a model that others might follow.

If you are considering a similar cold call, it might help to remember that the people you contact may take as much from the conversation as they give. Your interest, questions and appreciation are meaningful gifts you can give to the person you invite to a conversation. It's true that not everyone will respond to a cold email, but some will. And your discussions with those people may be equally rewarding for both parties.

I commended the young woman for her courage in contacting me and told her that few people do what she did. As Dale Carnegie said: "Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy."