[2023-02-26] Grammar: patterns in language

I read a fascinating blog post the other day about how adults learn grammar in a second language. In the post Dear Duolingo: Does Duolingo teach grammar?, Dr. James Leow, curriculum designer for the Spanish course at Duolingo, answers a question from a Duolingo user. The questioner explains that when studying Spanish in high school, the teaching methods focused on worksheets and verb charts. The person asks: "When do I get to the grammar in the Spanish course? Does Duolingo teach grammar?"

In responding to the question, Leow starts by defining grammar:

Basically, grammar refers to the patterns we find in language—like the rules for combining words into longer phrases. And actually, I don't even mean only words—I also mean parts of words, like word endings, verb conjugations, prefixes, particles, etc. Any time you are combining things or adding endings in your language, you are using grammar!

So does Duolingo teach grammar? Leow responds: "The short answer is an enthusiastic YES!!" In fact, Duolingo users are learning grammar in every exercise, he says:
  • "Organizing word tiles to form a sentence? Grammar.
  • "Figuring out which word goes in a blank? Grammar.
  • "Deciding which grammatical gender a word has and choosing el or la? Grammar.
  • "Reading sentence after sentence in Stories? Grammar.
  • "Repeating a sentence filled with words and endings and conjugations? Grammar, grammar, grammar!"
I found this amazing. I hadn't thought about the fact that I am learning, absorbing and internalizing grammar with every exercise I do in Duolingo, especially when I make a mistake and subsequently discern the pattern that makes one answer correct and another one incorrect.

Leow acknowledges that "What learners sometimes mean by 'grammar' is explicit grammar teaching: being told in a lesson, worksheet, or verb chart exactly what the rule is." Bingo. I had thought that Duolingo spent little real estate on explicit grammar rules because of limitations in the app. I hadn't considered that this was a deliberate choice on the part of its developers.

Leow's next statement blew me away:

What you really want to do is get enough exposure to the language—and its grammatical patterns—so that you start developing instincts for what sounds right and what goes together. Seeing the rules spelled out can help you notice some patterns better, so you can find those in your Duolingo course, too, but we use them to support your learning (not to replace your lessons). Knowing how to express the rules might be helpful, clarifying, or even fun (!!)—but grammar is there any time the language is there.

This was an aha moment for me. I had to admit that I've learned more about Portuguese grammar through repetition and exposure than by studying the language like a math problem. To be fair, I have looked up rules to help me understand a pattern, but my internalization of the language has come much more from using grammar in the exercises than from studying grammar. For example, I initially struggled with the many words in Portuguese for this, that, these and those. I thought that I would never remember the differences. But with practice, I have developed an instinct or an ear for which one to use at which moment.

Leow goes on to say that Duolingo uses both implicit and explicit tools to teach grammar in its courses. With respect to implicit learning, he writes: "The more examples you see, the more opportunities you have to notice and practice patterns, which is the best way to learn." With respect to explicit learning, he adds, Duolingo includes grammar information in the guidebooks within the app. I have found these tips helpful in speeding up my recognition of patterns.

Leow notes that adults can learn patterns without being taught them. He invites readers to "think about all the patterns you've subconsciously absorbed into your language knowledge."

I could relate. While I'm the type of person who reads owner's manuals and tip sheets to maximize my use of a new piece of technology (such as a smart phone), most of my learning comes from actually using the device.

The same day I read the blog post on Duolingo and grammar, I ran into my Portuguese neighbour and took the opportunity to use my fledgling Portuguese skills. What astounded me was how much Portuguese I had internalized. Words were coming to me faster than I would have thought possible, especially given that I have no teacher. And my comprehension was greater than I would have imagined, owing in part to my very patient neighbour, who very kindly speaks slowly and clearly for me.

Later in the day, I shared with my neighbour a guidebook, vocabulary list and practice lessons (explicit learning) to help someone who speaks Portuguese learn English. These resources are from a site called Duome.eu, which is a fan page and unofficial forum for users of Duolingo. To help others, I have put together a list of guides, vocabulary lists and practice lessons for various languages that I know some Jenesis readers are learning. The first language is the language of the learner, while the second language is the one they are trying to learn:
The Duome site has many other combinations available (for example, tools for a French-speaking person who wants to learn Spanish). It can take a little digging to find the appropriate guides, vocabulary lists and practice lessons, so if you have trouble locating a particular combination, let me know.