[2023-02-27] Shane's 32st birthday

Thirty-two years ago today, I gave birth to my first child. A son. I could never have predicted where he would be in his life more than three decades later. The successes he would have. The challenges he would overcome. The truly decent human being he would become.

Despite ADHD (or perhaps because of it, since learning disabilities often offer a few heightened abilities along with some disabilities), Shane would complete an undergraduate degree in university, attain a juris doctor degree in law school and be called to the bar. He would find work in his chosen field, buy a condo and make a life for himself.

Tonight, he came home for a birthday supper. This was Shane's fourth family-related birthday celebration. This year, he had the brilliant idea of having one-on-one celebrations with each of us. A few weeks ago, Chris took Shane out for dim sum. A few days later, Melanie stopped by Shane's place after work for dinner and a little virtual reality game play. And last Saturday, I spent the morning with Shane shopping and treated him to lunch in Westboro. Tonight the four of us got together at home for pizza and chocolate mousse cake, both homemade.

I feel immensely blessed to have had children. Being a mother has brought more love, laughter and pride to my life than I could ever have imagined.

It's been said that "Your greatest contribution to the universe may not be something you do, but someone you raise." I love this. As proud as I am of the many roles I have played in my life, I am most proud of my role as mom to two amazing kids.