[2023-02-28] Radiation oncology follow-up

Today, I had my four-month follow-up with Dr. Jin, a radiation oncologist at The Ottawa Hospital, in relation to perianal skin cancer. She's such a positive and calm doctor. It's a pleasure to meet with her.

She did an internal exam as well as a check of my pelvic lymph nodes, declaring that everything feels normal. She also confirmed that my pelvic MRI looks good, something that I had concluded when reading the report more than a month ago. I consider myself lucky to have the option to receive the results of medical tests as soon as they're ready, rather than waiting for an appointment with the requesting physician or, in some cases, never hearing the results at all because "no news is good news." It makes it so much less stressful to have a follow-up with an oncologist when I already know the results of my tests.

I had no concerns to register with Dr. Jin, save for sometimes uncomfortable bowel movements because of narrowing in my anal canal. Unfortunately, this side effect of pelvic radiation, caused by the build-up of scar tissue, will never go away. Still, it's a small price to pay to help ensure that at least that cancer doesn't return. I told Dr. Jin that I've taken to eating prunes (four per day) to keep things soft and flowing. She approved, saying that every patient like me needs to find what source of fibre works for them. Suggestions welcomed.

My next appointment with Dr. Jin will be in four months and my next pelvic MRI will be in a year. This regular follow-up gives me peace of mind.