[2023-03-12] Today I helped someone

Today, in the parking lot of the Bruce Pit dog park, I helped a woman get her dog into the back of her SUV. It wasn't an old dog who was struggling to make the leap into the vehicle. No, it was a young Bernese Mountain Dog, who seemingly wanted to remain at the park. His owner had tied his leash to the open door of her SUV and was in the driver's seat trying to convince the dog that she was serious about leaving. As Mel and I were passing by the vehicle, en route to our own car, the pup approached us. Any distraction seemed preferable to getting into his car and leaving. At that point, the woman got out of her SUV and explained to us that the only way to get her dog in the car was to pretend that she was leaving. I smiled, then took an approach I always use with dogs who are doing the opposite of what their owners want: I approached the back of the vehicle, clapped my hands and excitedly beckoned the dog to me. I might have said, "Let's go," but I'm not sure, as it all happened so quickly. The dog immediately jumped into the back of the SUV. His owner breathed a sigh of relief and said: "I appreciate you. I've been trying to leave for the past 15 minutes."

This incident reminded me of a similar adventure at Bruce Pit a few weeks prior. On another walk at the park, Mel and I noticed a young Goldendoodle lying in the snow, about 20 feet off the main path, with nary a human in sight. The dog seemed happy enough, but I always wonder when I see a lone pet with no owner. We approached the dog to see whether he might have a tag on his collar, but he scampered away as soon as we got close, a leather glove in his mouth. In the distance, we heard a man calling to the dog, once again seemingly trying the I'm-leaving-so-you'd-better-come strategy. Mel and I managed to get beyond the dog and succeeded in chasing him towards his owner, but the dog was too quick to be caught. He was not about to get close to any human, especially his master, for fear of having his prized glove taken away. The man told us that he had been trying to leave the park for 45 minutes but that his dog would neither follow him nor let him get close. Mel and I tried several more times to corral the Doodle, but we were no match for the dog, especially in deep snow. The owner suggested that we pretend to have a treat. That worked, to a point, as we could get the dog to come near us, but the moment we moved toward him, he was off again. I decided that I would give it one last shot. This time, while he was once again lying in the snow chewing on the glove, I approached him from behind. He turned his head when I pretended to offer him a treat, but the moment he turned his head away and prepared to flee, I grabbed him by the haunches and held on to his curly fur. "Gotcha!" I said. I quickly reached up and grabbed the Doodle's collar. "Don't let him go," the man said, but it wasn't hard to restrain the dog. He knew that he had been bested. The man thanked us profusely, as he leashed his pet.

What these occasions reflect is the power of a fresh perspective and a newcomer's energy. Both the woman today and the man a few weeks ago were alone, exhausted after many failed attempts to get their dogs to listen, and out of ideas. They were frustrated with their pets, and frustration has a way of clouding the mind to possibilities. In contrast, I was calm and focused. I was under no pressure, knowing that if I didn't succeed, I could walk away. I would be able to say, "At least I tried." It also helped that I had Mel's encouragement, particularly with the Goldendoodle. Having spent 15 years walking the paths at Bruce Pit with our own Goldendoodle, Freddie, we have developed instincts about dogs that we would not otherwise have.

All of us have moments when we're the bringers of fresh perspective and new energy. It's easy to downplay the importance of our contribution, particularly if the expertise we share comes easily to us. But we should take pride in our actions, however fleeting the moment, and remember them. I often start my daily writing with the question: "What happened today that I don't want to forget?" That's a terrific question for anyone who keeps a journal. Another prompt might be: "Today, I helped someone...." I guarantee that any answer to that question will make you smile.