[2023-04-04] A genuine and trustworthy voice

As I was writing tonight's post, I received a call that my phone flagged as "Suspected Spam." Since my cellphone answers my calls automatically, I said nothing in response to the interruption, anticipating that the robocall would disconnect on its own.

But it didn't. Instead, a sweet voice said, "Hello?" I responded with a brief, slightly suspicious "Hello." The sweet voice continued, providing her name and identifying her organization. She informed me that my member of provincial parliament had recently resigned and asked whether I would take a survey about the upcoming by-election. She said it would take six minutes.

I paused. "Do I really have time to take a survey when I should be working on my post?" I asked myself. "Is this a legitimate request?" I wondered.

But she sounded so lovely, like an older woman I might talk to if I met her on the street walking her dog.

So I agreed to do the survey. The woman spoke clearly and maintained an ideal pace—neither too fast nor too slow. I appreciated her efficiency. I also appreciated her respect and understanding when I refused to answer two questions: which party I had voted for in the last election and which party I would vote for in the next election.

When we had concluded the survey and she had thanked me for my participation, I said this: "I want you to know that I would not have answered your survey if you hadn't sounded so genuine and trustworthy. You have a lovely voice."

"Oh," she replied, surprised by the compliment. "You just made my night."

After the call, I set aside the post I had been working on and wrote this one instead. I wanted to remember this exchange. It brought to mind something I often say in such situations: "Women Helping Women!" I like helping all people, but I especially love helping other women.

I started my day with a similarly positive encounter. This morning, I met a friend for coffee. We chatted effortlessly and without pause from the moment we met to the moment we departed. Every time we get together, we learn from each other, validate each other, and leave feeling better about ourselves and the world. It's another beautiful example of women helping women.