[2023-04-09] Easter in the sugar bush

It was a beautiful day to spend Easter in the country. Early in the afternoon, I drove to my Mom's farm with my two kids. Upon arrival, we immediately headed to the sugar bush, where my mom, my siblings and our respective families were gathered. My daughter and I collected sap in a five-gallon pail and, together, carried the full pail back to the sugar shack. I quickly concluded that our strengths were not in hauling, so I enlisted the help of my son and nephew. Mel and I collected the sap, while they carried the pails of sweet liquid back to the sugar shack. It was an effective division of labour.

Today, I am grateful for family, health, blue skies and sunshine, the strength to traipse through the woods collecting sap, the smell of boiling sap and sweet maple syrup, good food, the freedom to get together, and the proximity of my children. I'm thankful for positivity, kindness, gentle words and laughter. I'm happy to be alive and to be loved.