[2023-04-17] Annual checkup

I had my annual checkup with my family doctor today. I can't recall whether I went to annual physicals with Dr. Daverne before I had cancer, but I certainly made a point to do so afterwards. Being diagnosed with ovarian cancer made me keenly aware of the fragility of life and the complexity of my body. In fact, a conversation with Dr. Daverne at my 2021 checkup led to a referral to a dermatologist and the discovery of my perianal skin cancer.

I had so many medical interventions in 2020, 2021 and 2022probably more in those 3 years than in the previous 50 years combinedthat it would be understandable if I had decided to skip the optional annual checkup. But that logic would have been like saying about my car, "I got the tires rotated. Do I really need to change the oil?"

When I go to annual physicals, I bring my list of things that don't require immediate intervention, and Dr. Daverne has her list as well. Today, we covered the following:
  • Blood pressure (beautiful) and weight (stable).
  • Blood work for anything not covered as part of my monthly follow-up for ovarian cancer (including thyroid, cholesterol, diabetes, B12, iron).
  • Vaccinations (I've opted for a newly available vaccination against pneumonia).
  • Timing for regular diagnostic tests (I will be due for my five-year colonoscopy next year).
  • Breast and pelvic exams.
  • Advice (she gave me helpful counsel on what I can use to keep my bowel movements soft, as a counter to the side effects of pelvic radiation).
These appointments ensure that at least one member of my health team is looking at my overall health.

Dr. Daverne is a beautiful human being. She is punctual and respectful, lighthearted and humorous, empathic and compassionate, optimistic and thorough, nurturing and encouraging. Her whole demeanour says, "I care." She asked me how I felt to be in my 50s. "Fabulous," I said. She felt the same.

Today, I took Dr. Daverne a little care package of homemade cookies: a small token of my esteem for her. I would book annual checkups just to see her even if I didn't believe I needed them. But I do. And I'm grateful for the peace of mind that comes from hearing that things look good and that she believes I will live for many more years.