[2023-05-05] Passion projects

This evening, Chris, Mel and I went to a vintage car show in Bells Corners (in the west end of Ottawa). For me, the best part of events like this is chatting with the owners. We spoke with one man who had a Lamborghini-green hot rod. He admitted that the colour wouldn't have been his first choice, as he prefers to blend in. However, he explained that the man who had owned the car before him had had a Lamborghini in the same colour and decided to have his hot rod painted in the eye-catching tone.

For me, paint colours are often among the most attractive features of a vehicle. I notice bold or deep hues before just about anything else. The bright red mustang stood out among the many vehicles on display, as did the rich plum coupe, though the fading light of the evening made it difficult to get a photo that did justice to the depth of colour of the latter.

But my favourite vehicle was a dazzling orange 1949 Chevy truck. There was much to admire in this vehicle, from the vibrant Harley Davidson colour, to the glossy red pine box, to the silky smooth black African mahogany dashboard. Mel and I spent about 15 minutes talking to the vehicle's owner. Gord regaled us with the tale of finding the pickup in the previous owner's barn, the work he had done to mount the body on a 1973 chassis, and the hours he had spent sanding the wood for the box and dashboard. He even invited me to sit inside the truck so that Mel could snap a pic of me.

Our conversation with Gord reminded me of a piece of advice James Clear gave in his latest weekly newsletter:

Broaden your interests. It's nice to have at least one surprising hobby or passion. People find it interesting. In many ways, the part of you that is least expected is more respected.

Funnily enough, Gord admitted that he had put way more money and time into his truck than perhaps he should have. For me, the result of his labour was well worth the effort.

In my view, there's always value in having passion projects. And when others show interest in those same passions, the connections that ensue can be positive, validating and enriching.