[2023-06-16] The success of every woman

"The success of every woman should be the inspiration to another. We should raise each other up."
~ Serena Williams

I am inspired by the woman who:
  • Models patience to a child.
  • Is a loving adult despite a traumatic childhood.
  • Loves herself.
  • Finishes school.
  • Lands a promotion.
  • Walks away when it's right.
  • Takes a risk.
  • Follows her heart.
  • Gets back up.
  • Cares for a child when she's exhausted.
  • Fosters a child.
  • Catches others doing things right.
  • Listens without offering advice.
  • Expresses curiosity instead of judgement.
  • Stands up for herself (and for others).
  • Helps others to feel less lonely.
  • Exudes enthusiasm.
  • Shares her truth, with the aim of helping others.
  • Speaks what is true, helpful, inspiring, necessary and kind.
  • Raises her children to think about others.
  • Offers help to a (virtual) stranger.
I see you. I applaud you. I thank you.

To the woman who found out today that she does not have cancer, I say this: your success is my inspiration and my hope. You have raised me up, and it has been an honour to raise you up.


Photo courtesy of Yann Caradec