[2023-07-02] Memories

Today, we fed two birds with one scone. An invitation to my cousin's cottage became an opportunity for Shane and Mel to go ziplining in the same neck of the woods. While the kids hiked, climbed and zipped among the trees, Chris and I explored the neighbourhood on foot.

Then it was off to the cottage, where we shared lunch with my cousin and her husband. Afterwards, we enjoyed tea and dessert on the dock, while Shane and Mel went kayaking. The setting was peaceful, the food was delicious, and the conversation was positive. I was reminded of how much certain places and certain people can create a feeling of serenity.

When we returned home, I was greeted by a beautiful plant and cards (one for my birthday and one in anticipation of my surgery). My friend and her daughter had dropped them off while we were away and, as per my friend's custom, she had texted me a photo of the two of them from my doorstep. It is one of the nicest ways to receive a present. A text appears on my phone. I look at the accompanying photo and think, "Oh, what a lovely picture of my friend and her daughter. I wonder what they're up to." And then it dawns on me that the photo was taken at my front door. While I always appreciate my friend's gifts (which are so well chosen), I love the messages in the cards equally well. Not only do I receive a hand-written note from my friend, but I also get messages written by her two kids as well. Their loving gesture fills me up.

We capped off the day with a walk to Walter Baker Park for Kanata's Canada Day fireworks, which were delayed by a day. They were gorgeous.

I had a smile on my face the entire time I wrote this post, reflecting on the thoughtful family and friends I have in my life. It was a day for making memories and for appreciating all that is good in this world.