[2023-08-06] Jenesis, Portuguese and hospital kits

Three-year anniversary of Jenesis

Today is the three-year anniversary of Jenesis. I started the blog on August 6, 2020, a week after being diagnosed with ovarian cancer. I wanted an easy way to keep my employees, friends and loved ones apprised of my treatment. The blog gave me a place to recognize the many people who had reached out to me and to document my cancer journey in real time.

Like my first blog (Café Jen), Jenesis evolved along the way to become a conduit for my ideas, values and wisdom. I tried to make most posts about more than just my story, adding quotes, anecdotes and information for the benefit of all readers. In that way, everyone could take something from my words. But I was (and still am) most touched by responses from people going through the same thing as me. Just today, for example, a friend of a friend reached out to share her story. Like me, she had ovarian cancer. Like me, she learned that she had inherited a mutation in her BRCA2 gene. Like me, she had a prophylactic bilateral mastectomy. She thanked me for sharing my story, and I thanked her for helping to make me feel a little less alone.

In just a few days, I will reach 1,100 posts. I'm glad I didn't stop writing when I hit 1,000 posts. In the past few days and weeks, I've needed this blog and the support that comes with it more than ever.

Completion of Duolingo's Brazilian Portuguese course

Last night, on Day 355 of my current streak in Duolingo, I completed the entire course work for Brazilian Portuguese, acquiring the Legendary Trophy for each of the 75 levels. What started as a curiosity in August 2022 (how much could I actually learn using Duolingo?) became a commitment to completing all the levels (which I did by March 2023) and a determination to acquire all the Legendary Trophies (which I did in just under a year).

I thought that Duolingo would give me a snazzy certificate or badge for completing every element of its Brazilian Portuguese course, but it didn't. Nevertheless, I know how significant this achievement is. And the learning doesn't stop now. I will continue to use the app to hone my knowledge of Brazilian Portuguese, reviewing older lessons to remember vocabulary I have forgotten, to identify concepts I still struggle with, and to practise my speaking and listening skills. I will also continue refining my French with the app.

Hospital kits

I'm not sure how I came across an article in Toronto Life magazine about hospital kits, but it's worth sharing, along with my own experience of what I liked having with me during the three hospital stays I've had in the last three years.

In I spent lots of time in hospitals and realized that nobody knows what to buy for a sick person. So I started making my own hospital kits, two-time cancer survivor Geoff Church describes what he took to the hospital for his second bout with the disease:

I had two weeks to prepare for my surgery, so I went shopping for a few items that would make the six-month recovery period more manageable. I bought slippers that were way more comfortable than the ones at the hospitals, a water bottle to replace the flimsy Styrofoam cups, an eye mask to help me sleep better and ear plugs to block out the hospital noise. After my previous surgery, I’d shared a room with a man who screamed in agony at night, and it had somewhat traumatized me.

As he recuperated in hospital after his surgery, friends would visit but would have no idea what to bring him. That inspired him to create and sell hospital kits, which included items such as "a blanket that can be used with an IV pole, a water bottle with lid options that allow you to drink while lying down, a zip-up pocket for personal items, as well as custom slippers, face masks, note pads, laundry bags, ear plugs and tote bags, all neatly packaged into kits."

The kits look beautiful, but also expensive. And most of the things that you would want for a hospital stay are things you probably already own. Here is a list of things I would pack if going into hospital, inspired by the list I provided to my husband for my most recent stay:
  • Cell phone charger. Cell phones have become essential tools for most people—for making and receiving calls, sending messages, tracking appointments, keeping notes and providing distraction. But they lose power quickly, so a cell phone charger is a must.
  • Portable battery. Portable batteries can be more convenient than cables to recharge electronic devices, as they don't require you to be close to an outlet. However, they do need to be recharged themselves, so it's important to bring a cable to recharge the portable battery for a longer hospital stay.
  • Extension cord. You may not have access to multiple electrical outlets in your hospital room or to outlets that are close enough that you can recharge your devices and continue to use them from your bed. An extension cord can solve that problem.
  • Earbuds or headphones. Earbuds can make taking phone calls or watching videos on a cell phone or tablet comfortable for you and less distracting for hospital roommates. Wired earbuds or headphones don't need to be recharged but may not be compatible with all devices (for example, most new cell phones have no headphone jack). Bluetooth earbuds offer more mobility, as there are no wires to get tangled, but do need to be charged. If you're buying or bringing earbuds or headphones for a loved one, ask what kind they need.
  • Ear plugs. Hospitals are noisy. A good pair of quality ear plugs are invaluable, especially if they come with a little case to store them while not in use.
  • Eye mask. Hospitals are bright. An eye mask not only helps with sleeping at night, but also for naps during the day.
  • Peanut pillow. I've extolled the virtues of small, peanut-shaped pillows before. They are immensely useful in the hospital to provide extra support to the neck whether when talking to visitors during the day or trying to sleep on flat hospital pillows at night.
  • Tablet or laptop. For extended hospital stays, a tablet or laptop can be useful for passing the time. You can watch movies, read books, communicate with loved ones (easier on a keyboard-enabled laptop or tablet than a cell phone) and distract yourself with games.
  • Pyjamas and fluffy socks. Hospital gowns are not always comfortable and are definitely not warm. A favourite pair of warm pyjamas and fluffy socks can go a long way to making you feel comfortable, warm and loved while in a foreign environment.
  • Water bottle. A water bottle that you can drink from while lying in bed is a welcome addition to a hospital kit.
  • Toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss in a zip-up bag. In addition to these dental hygiene essentials, you may also want to bring other toiletries such as a comb or lip balm.
  • Case for eyeglasses. The bedside tables provided in hospitals can be a precarious place to rest glasses and are often quite high off the ground. A case for eyeglasses is a must.
  • Sturdy bag. A sturdy bag that can stand up on its own can help to corral all the bits and pieces you may want close by.
For longer stays, books, magazines, a housecoat, a fluffy blanket, mints and snacks could be added to the list.

Hakuna matata

I've never been on so many antibiotics. I was prescribed two antibiotics—Cipro (ciprofloxacin) and Keflex (cephalexin)—to make sure that whatever bacteria took hold in my right breast is killed. But this high dose of antibiotics is starting to take its toll on my body. I'm taking Acidophilus, timing it carefully so as not interfere with the antibiotics. I'm upping my intake of probiotic yogurt. And I've returned to an old standby that helped me get through chemotherapy-related nausea: digestive biscuits. And I'm resting, taking naps to make up for lost sleep during the nighttime.

It's been more than a year since I had to do something hard to avoid cancer. The most recent challenge, before this latest one, was radiation in the early months of 2022. After recovering from that treatment, I had gotten used to feeling strong and healthy. Now, I'm back to convalescing, with more medical interventions to come in the next year. It doesn't seem quite fair. But it is an unfortunate reality for so many. And still we carry on, and we get through.

This afternoon, a friend dropped off a cheerful latte mug, with bright colours and the words Hakuna Matata on it. It comes straight from New York and the set of The Lion King. It has been a long while since my children were young and we watched the Disney movie on VHS, so I had to remind myself of the meaning of the expression. According to Wikipedia:

"Hakuna matata" is a Swahili phrase, meaning "no trouble" or "no worries" and "take it easy" (literally hakuna: "there is no/there are no"; matata: "worries".)

I will think of that when I drink from the mug.