[2023-08-15] A year of Duolingo

Today, I reached a 365-day streak on Duolingo. A year ago, I started the Brazilian Portuguese course on Duolingo. Just over a week ago, I finished it. I continue to use the app every day, now focusing on listening to and speaking Brazilian Portuguese and on brushing up on my French.

Gordon B. Hinckley said:

Study a foreign language if you have opportunity to do so. You may never be called to a land where that language is spoken, but the study will have given you a better understanding of your own tongue or of another tongue you may be asked to acquire.

I have absolutely found this to be the case. Learning Brazilian Portuguese has reinforced some concepts in English, but especially in French.

And Frank Smith said:

Language is not a genetic gift, it is a social gift. Learning a new language is becoming a member of the club—the community of speakers of that language.

This has been my experience as well. Some say that alcohol is a social lubricant. For me, language is a social lubricant.

Having learned more Brazilian Portuguese than I ever thought possible, I'm convinced that I could tackle another language in the years ahead. But for now, I will focus on Portuguese and French.