[2023-08-24] Breast surgery follow-up: healing well

I had a follow-up visit at The Ottawa Hospital's Plastic Surgery department today, this time with my primary surgeon, Dr. Zhang, herself. She examined me and said that I am healing well.

Regarding the pain I occasionally experience in my left breast (the one with the implant), she noted that this is normal. She recommended that I massage the area. Instinctively, I had been doing this even before she mentioned it, as I found that massaging my breast provided relief. I will continue to do so. I asked whether using a heating pad was advisable, but she cautioned that I don't have the same sensation in my breasts since the removal of virtually all my breast tissue (and the nerves contained therein). So I'll be careful with heating pads.

I will see Dr. Zhang in another four weeks. And at some point in the months ahead, I will sit down with her for a full consultation on options. She noted that if I opted for a new implant, I would require two surgeries because the skin would need time to stretch to accommodate an implant of the same size as my existing one. But such matters are for future consideration. I haven't decided what I will do, largely because I don't have enough information to make a decision.

Following my appointment, Chris and I went to another shift at the Nostalgia Music Festival in Ottawa. Volunteering brings us into contact with the most interesting people. Today reinforced that the vast majority of people are lovely, that everyone has a story (and therefore something to teach us), and that the world is, indeed, small.

\