[2023-09-06] Perth September 2023

Despite the heat, Chris and I headed to Perth today for a day trip. It's one of our favourite towns to visit.

Today's itinerary included the requisite stroll through Stewart Park. Its magnificent trees cast some much-needed shade this morning, and the Tay River provided pleasure for both the eyes and ears as it wended its way through the park.

Next was another requisite stop: lunch at The Fieldhouse Bakery And Restaurant. My daughter and I ate at the Fieldhouse in June and have dreamed of returning ever since. Today, it was my husband's turn, and he was just as delighted as I was. We shared a "gourd-geous" veggie sandwich (roasted squash, pickled onions, goats cheese, walnut pesto and greens). We also shared a kale salad (kale, Parmesan, savoury granola and creamy parsley dressing) and house greens (lettuce, red cabbage, radish and green goddess dressing). For dessert, we split two cruffins (a croissant baked in the shape of a muffin): one with lemon-raspberry filling and one with chocolate filling. I thought that everything was a 10; my husband said it was an 11.

Following a very satisfying lunch, we set off to explore the town some more, seeking shade wherever we could. One of the coolest things we found (literally and figuratively) was a water fountain that included a tap for pets at ground level. A French bulldog snorted happily as he quenched his thirst.

We proceeded to Ground Waves, one of several home decor and gift shops in Perth. I promised a friend (who happens to own the store with his wife) that I would visit the next time I was in Perth. It's a charming store, with lots to see. Chris purchased some Québecois-inspired socks with French swear words (labeled t*b*rnak socks). And I purchased a necklace with a pendant of a stylized black cat. The woman at the store (also the maker of the jewelry) asked whether I was a cat person. "Not really," I said, "but whenever I see artwork with a cat in it, I'm drawn to it." (In fact, I used to say that our cat—Karma rest in peace—was like artwork that moved around the house.)

We moved on to Backbeat Books and Music, a beautifully maintained shop in an old house. I scanned the books, not intending to buy anything. But then my eyes landed on The Power of Kindness: Why Empathy is Essential in Everyday Life. Written by emergency room physician Dr. Brian Goldman, the book shares his search for the most empathic people on the planet and his efforts to rediscover his own lost compassion. Given my appreciation for kindness, empathy and stories, I couldn't pass it up.

One of the best things about daytripping is that we can explore different parts of the same place, returning to favourite hangouts and adding new destinations with each visit. It's how I cook: superb recipes get added to our collection of favourites and become part of our regular rotation; mediocre recipes get dropped to make room for new discoveries.

A woman I follow on social media who is living with incurable stage 4 breast cancer encourages her followers to "go grab life." That's what we do every time we step out our door, whether we venture down a new path, visit a familiar place, or spend time with a loved one. It's also what we do when we nurture ourselves and our loved ones, whether we celebrate our children's first day back at school, expand our mind with a good book, or plan a party for the return of a beloved family member. In the process, we make memories, and that's pretty awesome.