[2023-09-13] CityFolk 2023

Chris and I have returned to CityFolk to volunteer. Following our shift in Volunteer Check-in, we took in a show by Busty and the Bass, an electro-soul band from Montreal.

Fatigue and the cold spurred us to leave early, passing up the chance to see Iggy Pop.

We'll be volunteering for the rest of the week and through the weekend, so my Jenesis posts may be brief for the next few days.

The most memorable part of today was helping young volunteers between 14 and 17 who arrived without their parental permission forms. In every case, I provided information on how they could download the form and submit it once signed by a parent. More importantly, I provided encouragement, positivity and patience along the way. And when they finally got their forms submitted and I could sign them in, I enthusiastically welcomed them aboard.

Nikki Giovanni said: "Mistakes are a fact of life. It is the response to the error that counts." I always try to help volunteers succeed. That's the most fulfilling part of the job.