[2023-10-04] What's meant to be

This morning, a beautiful poem by the fabulous Erin Hanson (@thepoeticunderground) appeared on my Instagram feed:

If it is yours it will be yours,
it will not simply pass you by.
So do not weep for what has been
or curse the ever-changing sky.
Hold your hands out to the world;
don't grab at things you wished would linger,
and you'll look down to find what's meant to be
entwined around your fingers.

It made me think of my right breast, the one from which the implant was removed because of an infection after my bilateral mastectomy. When I look at how well my left breast is doing, how the implant feels natural and part of my body, I say quietly to myself, "If only it had worked."

But I do not allow myself to dwell on the loss. I acknowledge the feeling and move on. I do not weep for what has been or try to grab at things that are no longer there. Instead, I try to focus on what will be. A solution to my current mismatched breasts will materialize—not for a few months, of course, but it will come. As Erin says, it will not pass me by. At some point in the not too distant future, I will look down to find what's meant to be entwined around my fingers.