[2023-10-08] Giving thanks

This Thanksgiving, I am grateful for family, for the occasion holidays provide to get together with loved ones, for my health and the health of the people I love, for a visit to the farm to see the fall colours and the bounty of the garden (apparently it was a bumper year for potatoes and apples), and for the pleasure of helping my mom turn out a potluck meal for our holiday dinner.

I'm also grateful to have had a humble Thanksgiving lunch with Chris, Shane and Mel before heading out to the country. Mel and I had visited the farmer's market in Stittsville in the morning and had brought home an assortment of sweet treats from Sugar Tarts Bakery. Starr, who bakes the butter tarts, pies, scones, cookies and bars, was modest and friendly, as was her partner, Roy. When I purchase goods, especially at a market, I gravitate toward people who are kind and welcoming. Starr is a lovely woman who makes beautiful sweets.

After lunch, Chris, Shane, Mel and I had a taste test of various Sugar Tarts Bakery desserts: a traditional butter tart, a SKOR bite, a date square, a "double trouble" chocolate and vanilla cookie, and a cinnamon bun. The SKOR bite, which tasted like a brownie encased in caramel, was the family favourite.

Thanksgiving brings together so many things that I love: family, food and gratitude.