[2023-10-19] Avoiding loneliness and staying connected


In connection with last night's post, a friend wrote to me to say that she and her mother had talked about some of the secrets to successful aging. These included maintaining interests outside the home and having a group of friends that one can stay socially active with. My friend acknowledged that many of her mom’s friends, whether widowed or still with their spouses, were starting to decline, in part because they had isolated themselves over the last several years.

This is perhaps one of the enduring problems of the pandemic. For some, social distancing led to social isolation, and the habit of remaining alone became entrenched. Moreover, community-based programs that existed before the pandemic, such as exercise classes for seniors, may have been slow to return.

The US National Institute on Aging explains in Loneliness and Social Isolation — Tips for Staying Connected that:

Those who find themselves unexpectedly isolated due to the illness of a loved one, separation from friends or family, loss of mobility, worsening vision or hearing problems, disability, or lack of mobility or access to transportation, are at particular risk of loneliness and social isolation.

The article goes on to define a number of characteristics that would put someone at greater risk of loneliness: they live alone; they can't leave their home; they've experienced a major loss or life change (such as the death of a partner or retirement); they lack money; they are caring for someone else; they are experiencing psychological or cognitive challenges (such as depression or dementia); they have limited social support; they have trouble hearing; they live in an isolated community; they have a language barrier. It's easy to understand why someone experiencing some or several of these circumstances might say, "It's just too much effort to connect with others."

How to stay connected

The National Institute on Aging makes a number of concrete suggestions to help people stay connected, including:
  • Take care of yourself. "Try exercising, eating healthy, getting enough sleep (7 to 9 hours), and pursuing activities you enjoy to help manage stress and stay as mentally and physically healthy as possible."
  • Stay active. "Stay physically active and include group exercise, such as joining a walking club or working out with a friend."
  • Engage in enjoyable activities. "Find an activity that you enjoy, restart an old hobby, or take a class to learn something new."
  • Connect with others. "People who engage in meaningful, productive activities they enjoy with others feel a sense of purpose and tend to live longer."
  • Keep in touch. "Schedule time each day to stay in touch with family, friends, and neighbors in person, by email, social media, voice call, or text."
  • Meet people. "Introduce yourself to your neighbors."
  • Join programs in your community. "Check out resources and programs at your local social service agencies, community and senior centers, and public libraries."
You can also volunteer, join a cause or interact with a pet.

I love the idea of introducing yourself to your neighbours. The older I get, the more I spend time with the people who live close to me.
  • When I was very young, my friends came from my community, living within 5 km of me.
  • When I went to elementary school and high school, I made new friendships with students in my county, living within 30 km of me.
  • When I went to university and subsequently entered the workforce, I built new relationships with classmates and colleagues in my city, living within 200 km of me.
  • When I retired, I found myself spending more and more time at home, and having the opportunity to meet people on my street and within the west and central part of the city, living within 20 km of me.
As I've written before, neighbours are an important source of friendship.

To the National Institute on Aging's list of risk factors for social isolation, I would add illness. It can be very difficult to go out or to have the energy to stay connected, even virtually, if we're dealing with a serious disease. That's why I'm so interested in the subject of loneliness, something I come back to again and again. While I was able to stay connected with people during my cancer treatment, not all cancer patients are as lucky.