[2023-11-07] CA125 November 2023

I took advantage of my being at the General Campus of The Ottawa Hospital yesterday to get my monthly blood work done.

With all the breast-cancer-avoidance stuff of the last few days, it's reassuring that my ovarian cancer remains at bay. My CA125 is 9. Low. Stable. Consistently in the single digits. Comfortably within the normal range of 0 to 35.

Lately, I have felt like I'm back in a revolving door of medical appointments: breast reconstruction consultation, colonoscopy, COVID vaccine and flu shot. And later this month, I'll have a follow-up with my radiation oncologist. It's all a little much sometimes, as important as it is.

But my spirits were lifted on the way home from the park-and-ride this evening after I picked up my daughter. As we were returning home, Mel and I saw a woman walking her dog. "Is that Bear?" Mel said with excitement. Bear is a beautiful lab-bernese mix who provides joy to me and Mel whenever we see her. And her owner, Maya, is just as lovely.

I pulled over and Mel jumped out. It was indeed Bear and Maya. It was the first time we had seen them since we had dropped off some treats for Bear earlier in the fall, along with a card of gratitude for Maya. I had completely forgotten about the card, but it obviously had an impact on Maya.

Seeing Bear and Maya brought a smile to both Mel and me. It was a welcome reset after the last few days of appointments and commitments.