[2023-12-17] A little rebellious

Today, my daughter complimented a saleswoman on her beautiful smile. That would not normally be remarkable since Mel often praises people who provide service to her. But today's act of kindness stood out for me because my daughter and I had just had an unpleasant experience with a high-pressure salesman at a different location. Rather than let the behaviour of the salesman bring her down, Mel chose to put a little goodness and gratitude out into the world, thanking the saleswoman for her positive energy. In turn, the saleswoman smiled even bigger and brighter.

It reminded me of something I had read this morning in social media, though I can't remember where. It was something to the effect that, in a world disheartened by hate, sometimes the most rebellious act is to choose kindness, love and compassion. (The quote may have been inspired by this post.)

Being kind to one salesperson after the uncharitable approach of another felt a little rebellious, and it made me smile.