[2023-12-24] Christmas Eve 2023

I spent a good portion of the day in my kitchen, mostly with my daughter and sometimes my husband and son, making food for today's family day at home and tomorrow's extended family day at my mom's. We prepped fruit and a strawberry yogurt dip; veggies and a ranch dip; plus fish, coleslaw, cilantro-garlic sauce, shredded cheese and homemade tortillas for fish tacos.

We enjoyed the fruit and vegetables while playing Trivial Pursuit (2010-2020 version). We played in teams—the boys against the girls. I could have played with my son and my husband with our daughter, but Chris and I would have formed a hopeless pair against our two kids, as most of the questions were about modern (and, to us, obscure) games, trends, shows, music and memes. Mel and I prevailed 6 to 4 over Shane and Chris, but that was largely due to Mel's knowledge.

As Chris, Mel and I prepared supper (the boys had lobster rolls while we girls had fish tacos), Shane entertained us with Christmas Dad jokes.

After supper, Mel and I took a walk around the neighbourhood, benefiting from the warm temperature (1ºC) and enjoying the Christmas lights. When we returned home, we pulled out six chocolates that we had purchased on Friday at a local shop, cutting each one in four for a family taste test with the boys. We never fail to get everyone together when we declare "taste test."

More significant than what I did today was with whom I did it. Being together as a family is the best Christmas present.

Merry Christmas Eve to you and your loved ones.