[2024-02-21] Can you learn a language in 6 months?

The Duolingo blog recently answered a frequently posed question: Can you learn a language in 6 months?

The short answer was no, but the longer answer was fascinating and encouraging. But first, the question:

Dear Duolingo,

I've been learning Spanish for over two years now, but I'm still a ways off from being conversational. I regularly use Spanish when I'm in Panama, but live conversations make my head spin! I always hear stories about a friend of a friend who became fluent after only 6 months—but is this truly possible? Am I just an extremely slow learner?

Thank you,
Slow and Steady

Dr. Cindy Blanco, a senior learning scientist at Duolingo and a former college instructor of Spanish and linguistics, provided a simple answer: "You cannot learn a language in 6 months."

Blanco did qualify her response by saying that "fluent" means different things to different people. For example, while she can have conversations in many languages, she considers herself fluent in just two. She said that to truly know a language—learning its vocabulary, grammar and pronunciation, and being able to speak, read, write and listen to the language—it takes years of sustained practice.

But to people who consider "fluent in 6 months" to mean confident and conversational in a language, her answer was more nuanced: "actually, that is possible!"

How do some people learn so much, so fast?

Blanco identified a number of characteristics common to people who make incredible progress in a short time:
  1. They have a lot of experience studying languages. People who have already learned a second language have an easier time acquiring a third or fourth language, she said. They are better able to notice patterns in new languages and often have strong language learning skills.
  2. They are highly committed. Fast learners usually have a specific, personal motivation (which I call a strong why). For example, they may need to reach a certain level of proficiency for their current job or to advance in their career. Or they may want to communicate better with a new partner and their partner's family.
  3. They are exceptional language learners. Some people have a gift for picking up languages. But most of us, Blanco said, are just regular learners.

What can we learn from the exceptional learners?

Blanco noted that "Most people who *look* like great language learners are just really good at putting their language into practice." Here's what they're likely to do.
  1. They speak from day one. They start using the language from the very beginning, getting comfortable using a limited vocabulary and a handful of grammar rules. They move past their discomfort rather than wait until they feel they know enough.
  2. They excel at making mistakes. Blanco said that making mistakes is necessary for progressing in a language. "What's more important than 100% accuracy is being able to use what you know and to describe things you don't know—that will help you work through doubts, get better at forming sentences, remember vocabulary more easily, and get more input from native speakers."
  3. They immerse themselves in the new language. Blanco advised learners to find ways to surround themselves with the language and even try using only the new language. "From your own home, sing along to music in the new language, watch your favorite show with dubbing and subtitles, or write mini dialogues only using words you know. Start small—read or write for 2 full minutes in the new language, then 5 minutes, and so on. Talk to a friend, to your dog, or to the mirror, using only the new language."
  4. They put in the time. For example, one lesson a day in Duolingo will keep a streak alive, "but you'll need a lot more than that to make real progress," said Blanco. Dedicate specific times during the day for focusing on the language.

Today is day 555 of my learning streak in Duolingo. When I started learning Brazilian Portuguese, I hated making mistakes. For the first four months of my 18-month adventure, I used the free version of Duolingo. After five mistakes, I would lose all my hearts, and would have to review prior lessons to regain hearts or wait 24 hours until my hearts had regenerated. So every mistake took the wind out of my sails. Once I opted for the paid version of Duolingo, I was free to make as many mistakes as I wanted. I could guess with impunity. I could focus on progress rather than perfection.

I recognize that, in addition to having the money to pay for Duolingo, I have the luxury of time. I can afford to spend 30 minutes every morning and 30 minutes every night learning a language. But I also sneak in language learning in other ways, for example, listening to vocabulary audiobooks while baking, walking or traveling.

My favourite tip from Blanco was this one: write mini dialogues using only words I know. I haven't tried this yet, but will give it a whirl in Brazilian Portuguese and even Italian.

Blanco summed up her advice with these two points: use your new language as early as possible and as much as possible.

Happy learning. Bon apprentissage. Feliz aprendizado. Buon apprendimento.