[2024-02-27] Shane 2024

Today is my son's 33rd birthday.

In 1991, when I was 24 and Chris was 35, our 8 lb 10 oz baby boy was born. How little did I know then what joys Shane would bring to my life.

Of the many wonderful qualities Shane possesses, the one I am most proud of is respect. He has always been tremendously respectful of me and, as he said tonight, highly coachable.

I chose to share a photo taken in 1991, when Shane was a day old. How fresh-faced and naive Chris and I look in that picture.

In 2020, after being diagnosed with and treated for ovarian cancer, I realized the importance of photos. So every year since then, I've taken a photo with Shane on his birthday, including tonight. Funny that he's always on the left and I'm always on the right.

The other three photos are from 2023: Shane with a sword in hand, Shane in the sugar bush on my mom's farm, Shane with Mel after a day of ziplining in Quebec.

Looking at these photos, I'm reminded of the Robert Munsch story Love You Forever, which I used to read to the kids.

I'll love you forever,
I'll like you for always,
As long as I'm living
my baby you'll be.