[2024-03-31] The chef is back

Today, we made it to my mom's farm in time to witness the last boil of sap for the year. This is one of the earliest and shortest maple syrup seasons in memory. Despite this, I understand that this year's output will probably amount to that of an average year.

Returning to my mom's house, we sat outside—some in the shade of her front porch, others in the sun on her front lawn.

Among the guests at my mom's today were my great niece Elsie and great nephew Dawson. You may recall Elsie from my Boxing Day post: The chef is here. On that day, Elsie had assisted me in making pizza, helping to shape the dough and dress the pies. After a pause in our activities, Elsie had gone off to play, but when I sent word that she was needed in the kitchen, she came racing back, announcing "The chef is here."

Today, she came prepared. She had packed her very own apron. (I was sorry that I had forgotten to bring mine.) It was a humble yet beautiful apron, decorated with Disney princesses, handcrafted by a family friend.

After we washed our hands, Elsie climbed up on the stool that I had pulled in front of the kitchen island. She was in charge of removing the stems from bell peppers, tossing veggies with olive oil, seasoning them with some salt and pepper, collecting vegetable peels and scraps to add to the compost bowl, and piling slices of ham onto a serving platter. Dawson helped with the ham as well. Both Elsie and Dawson are a pleasure to observe.

I like being around children. I love the surprising things they say. I admire their eagerness to help and learn. I appreciate their respect.

I also love seeing parents who care for their children—listening to them, playing with them, teaching them. Indeed, I'm encouraged to see any adults interacting with children in positive, curious and nurturing ways. I especially like watching my own children (who are in their early 30s) connecting with youth.

Today was an opportunity to focus on the good in my life: a farm on which to walk, a family with whom to enjoy Easter dinner, and children in whom to see joy.