[2024-04-03] National Caregiver Day 2024

Yesterday was National Caregiver Day and World Autism Awareness Day (in addition to being my husband's birthday).

National Caregiver Day has been led by Carers Canada since 2009. Carers Canada—a national coalition created by the Canadian Home Care Association—is dedicated to increasing recognition and support for caregivers.

The theme of its 2024 National Caregiver Day is Valuing Caring, with a focus on the "give and get" inherent in caregiving. As the Carers Canada website says, bon

Caregivers give immeasurably to our society, not just in terms of their time and effort, but in their knowledge and dedication. In return, they gain value, both in personal growth and in the deep connections they forge through their caring roles.

Among the things caregivers give to their loved ones are improved recovery, fewer readmissions, better adherence to treatment plans, and higher quality and more effective care. Among the things caregivers get by supporting their loved ones are a feeling of usefulness ("55% of senior caregivers report fulfilment and a sense of purpose") plus greater companionship and emotional support and less social isolation.

But being a caregiver is not without its challenges. Today, I spent some time reading the stories of several caregivers, as shared on the Carers Canada Caring Experiences webpage. I read about:
  • 11-year-old Alexis, who helps care for her 5-year-old sister, who has seizures every day and can't talk or walk. ("If I can offer some advice to a caregiver my age, it would be to not think of the dark side of the day. Think of the good side instead, but also don’t hide your emotions.")
  • Ed, who cares for his wife, Wendy. ("No different than a marriage, caregiving requires strong and open communication.")
  • Wayne, who cared for his mother, who had dementia. ("Caregiving is a serious job with constantly changing expectations.")
But the story that touched me the most was that of 8-year-old-Aline, who helps care for her brother, Sami, who has autism. She writes:

I cuddle my brother every night, sing to him, make puzzles with him, teach him how to write, get him snacks, and play with him. I also help watch him when my mom needs my help. I love him so much.

Because he is different, he hasn’t made many friends in school, so I try to be his friend too. I read about his autism online and in books to better understand him and look for new ways to help him. He doesn’t know how to communicate well so sometimes he gets frustrated trying to explain what he wants. I stay calm and work with Sami to figure out what he wants.

Helping my brother makes me feel happy because I enjoy spending time with him and knowing that I am helping. Sometimes it can be frustrating because he breaks or takes my toys, but I remember that he doesn’t mean to and that he has autism which helps me calm down.

Aline's story (and her excellent advice to other children caring for a sibling to remain patient and calm) prompted me to note World Autism Awareness Day in addition to National Caregiver Day. The United Nations General Assembly designated April 2 as World Autism Awareness Day in 2007. Marking the day began as a way of raising awareness about autism. "Today, 17 years later," says the UN site, "we have moved beyond raising awareness to promoting acceptance and appreciation of autistic people and their contributions to society."

Over the past 3½ years, I have watched as loved ones have cared for me, and I have heard from family and friends who are caring for people in their lives, far too many of whom are dealing with a cancer diagnosis. As so much caregiving is done quietly, in individual homes, it is easy to underestimate the impact that caregiving takes on the caregiver.

So, in honour of National Caregiver Day, let me take this opportunity to thank the many of you who have cared for me—whether in person or virtually through your kind messages. I appreciate your support and love.

And let me also acknowledge all the caregivers who read Jenesis and remind you of the posts I have written (see section 4 of my Categories page) about the very difficult and very noble job you do as a caregiver.