[2024-04-16] Take your bright mind

A friend recently sent me this quote from an article by Susanne Täuber, who was fired after filing a complaint about gender bias:

So, if you can: don’t waste time doubting yourself. Walk away and take your bright mind to a place where it will be valued.

Täuber would likely be the first to acknowledge that this is easier said than done. Indeed, when I found myself in a situation where I was unappreciated, my confidence plummeted. I doubted myself. I considered taking a demotion to escape the stress.

But I also did what I could to try to find my way out of that work environment. Fortuitously, an opportunity emerged, and I was able to take my bright mind to a place where it was valued.

For me, the key words in Täuber's quote are these "if you can" (I know it's not always possible to walk away nor to quiet the voices of self-doubt in your mind) and "take your bright mind to a place where it will be valued" (as a friend said to me recently, trust that "a better future awaits").