[2024-04-18] Personalized health review

I saw my family doctor today for what I think of as my annual check-up but what my provincial health system describes as a "personalized health review."

This term emerged in Ontario in late 2012 when the Ontario Medical Association (OMA) and the Ontario Ministry of Health reached an agreement on physician services. This agreement included "modernizing the annual health exam, personalizing it to the individual needs of healthy adults and reducing unnecessary tests."

A 2013 CBC article quoted OMA president-elect Scott Wooder on the rationale for the change: "evidence shows a head-to-toe exam for healthy people with no complaints is not helpful." During "personalized health reviews," doctors and patients would discuss specific health risks, such as a family history of disease or relevant tests and screenings. Wooder pointed out that the change from an annual health exam to a personalized health review would not affect children, seniors or patients with chronic conditions. He noted that "With somebody who has diabetes for instance, there may be a much more extensive physical than in a healthy person."

A 2022 CBC article about medical appointments echoed that a check-up isn't something most people need every year. Citing the guidance of family physicians Dr. Peter Lin, Dr. Tara Kiran and Dr. Iris Gorfinkel, the article recommends:
  • Consult your doctor immediately if you have a new pain or lump.
  • See your doctor regularly if you have diabetes, high blood pressure or a chronic illness.
  • Get in touch with your doctor if you are overdue for "an age-related cancer screening test, like a Pap smear, colonoscopy or a mammogram."
  • In the case of routine vaccinations, especially for children, speak to your doctor to get caught up.
The article also recommends talking to your doctor about mental health issues, as they "might be able to provide you with tips, some very concrete strategies and maybe even medications to help."

Whether appointments like today's are considered a personalized health review or an annual check-up, I think there is value in touching base with my family doctor once a year to screen for potential illnesses, update any vaccines and possibly prevent molehills from becoming mountains.

In my case, a conversation with my doctor at my annual check-up in 2021 led to a referral to a dermatologist, which led to the discovery of my perianal skin cancer. I might not have gone to my family doctor just to talk about an itchy patch of skin on my bum, but it was easy to raise it in my yearly meeting, along with a list of other issues.

This year's check-up was straightforward. Blood work consistent with my age and family history: cholesterol, diabetes, thyroid. Blood pressure check. Vaginal exam. No requirement for additional vaccines, as I'm up to date. And no requirement for cancer screening: with no breast tissue, I don't need a mammogram; with no cervix, I don't need a Pap smear; with a recent colonoscopy, I'm good for another five years.

While I have numerous interactions with the healthcare system throughout the year—including monthly blood checks and quarterly follow-ups with my gynecologic oncologist related to ovarian cancer, semi-annual follow-ups with my radiation oncologist and annual pelvic MRIs related to my perianal skin cancer, ongoing consultations with my plastic surgeon related to my breast reconstruction—my appointments with my family doctor are designed to deal with all the remaining risks and issues not covered by these folks.

I've been lucky to have the same family doctor—the fabulous Dr. Daverne—for the past decade. She knows my history. She understands the value, to both my mental health and my physical health, of dealing with issues head on, such as opting for a bilateral mastectomy when I learned that my risk of breast cancer was 50-85%. And she's incredibly positive, kind and complimentary. It's always a pleasure to see her, whether for an annual check-up or a personalized health review.