[2024-04-24] Show 'em what you can do

A friend wrote to me recently to ask how to handle the situation when your boss gives long-standing employees assignments because they've been in the organization many years, but overlooks you for the same tasks.

I acknowledged that it's frustrating when you don't get the opportunities you think you're ready for or when your experience outside the organization is not understood or recognized. I noted that students often face this challenge in the workplace—capable of more than their bosses realize.

Early in my career, it often took me several months to realize everything my summer students were capable of, but, by then, their work term was almost over and the students were preparing to go back to school. So one summer, I asked two students on my team to prepare presentations to inform me and my directors of their skills and interests. I learned a lot about their competencies. On another occasion, I invited the students in my branch to organize a session with me and my directors general early in the summer to, once again, demonstrate what they were capable of and what they were interested in learning. It was an enriching discussion for both students and managers.

I suggested to my friend that perhaps she could do the same with her boss: give her manager information about what she has already done and indicate areas she would like to work in to gain new experience or hone existing skills.