[2024-08-24] Radiate positivity

This afternoon, Mel and I took part in the Bells Corners Summer Bash in Ottawa's west end. Hosted by the Bells Corners Business Improvement Area, the free Summer Bash featured music, activities for kids, food, a beer garden, and booths for local business, artisans and city services.

We were welcomed to the event by Christina, who absolutely radiates positivity. I love cheerful, exuberant people like her.

We moved on to the OC Transpo kiosk, where we were greeted by Achuil and Keith. I imagine that most visitors were there to pick up kits for making miniature cardboard trains and buses, colouring books and pencil crayons. My daughter and I, on the other hand, were there to ask some challenging questions about upcoming bus changes. For 10 minutes, Achuil answered every question, offered information, listened to our concerns, expressed empathy, and suggested ways we could advocate for changes. I was impressed with his composure and grateful for his positivity.

We next stopped at the booth for TravelWise, where we met Ashley and Sarah. They told us that TravelWise is a City of Ottawa program that helps workplaces that want to improve their employees' commuting. The program provides participating workplaces with policies and programs that make it easier for their staff to take transit, bike, walk and carpool to work. Once again, I was struck by the positive energy of the people staffing the booth. I can talk at length with individuals who are kind and knowledgeable, and Ashley and Sarah were just that.

When I encounter representatives who are welcoming and professional, I like to acknowledge it. Positivity makes interactions so much more pleasant.