[2024-08-26] Nostalgia best in show

The 2024 season of the Nostalgia music festival, featuring a lineup of tribute bands, wrapped up last night with music I adore. Listen to the Music, covering the music of the Doobie Brothers, took the stage at 5:30. Their performance was excellent, with strong vocals and equally strong music. They competently covered the hits of the Doobie Brothers, but really impressed me with their blues numbers.

They were followed at 7:30 by Scarecrow, playing the music of John Cougar Mellencamp. They gave a solid performance. I was surprised by how many songs I knew and how entertaining the show was. I like Mellencamp's music, but I have a special place in my heart for the songs of the Doobie Brothers (having seen them three times in concert) and the Eagles, which I grew up listening to.

Despite the late night, we decided to stick around for the final act of the festival, and I'm thrilled that we did. Hotel California, a tribute to the Eagles, kicked off their performance at 9:30. From the first song to the last one (we left just after 10:30), I was blown away by the stellar execution of the band. All four members of the group were incredible musicians and strong vocalists, especially Gabriel Giammaria. Not only was he an excellent drummer, but his vocals were like that of a young Don Henley, perhaps even stronger. This was not a performance where weak vocals were masked by loud music: the vocals were powerful, pure and perfect. The band's rendition of the Eagles' version of "Seven Bridges Road" was jaw-droppingly beautiful, the harmonies echoing across the lawn at Lebreton Flats. Throughout their set, I smiled from ear to ear and repeatedly said "Wow!" On the drive home, I declared to my husband, "That is one of the best concerts I've ever attended."

The leader of Hotel California highlighted the contribution of Gabriel Giammaria, noting that he just turned 25 and that he has a new single out on all the music platforms. I listened to his new single Give To You when I got home, which was a little like reliving the concert. I think he has a superb career ahead of him.

Though we didn't catch all the acts at the 2024 edition of the Nostalgia music festival, the ones we did listen to were impressive. For me, though, Hotel California was—hands-down—the best in show.