[2024-10-17] Thank you for your support

Yesterday, I shared my sadness after learning that one of my temporary breast implements may have sprung a leak. In response, I received many beautiful messages and wanted to capture some of them in this post. They gave me strength and may give others who are going through a tough time a little boost.

In last night's post, I shared a quote from writer Anne Lamott, who said, "Your mind is a bad neighbourhood, and you shouldn't be in it alone." Many of you rushed to my neighbourhood to commiserate with me:
  • "Well sh*t."
  • "That bad neighbourhood sucks."
  • "You’ve had more than your share of speed bumps these past 4 years."
  • "Ok all I can say is that really sucks."
  • "Enough is enough."
And many of you let me know that I wasn't alone in my grief:
  • "Look around at all the people that live in your neighbourhood."
  • "You are not alone in this bad neighborhood and I wish there was something meaningful I could do, say, but you aren’t alone here."
  • "We are with you."
  • "Thinking of you."
  • "I am with you."
  • "This little community you’ve created through your writing is certainly here to listen and to sit along side you as the speed bumps smooth out."
Some expressed appreciation for my having taken my daughter's advice and for sharing my story:
  • "You have raised a wise and loving daughter."
  • "Thank you for being you - open and transparent as you’ve been throughout this journey with us, your readers."
  • "Think of all of us as your sober women – and being honest about the difficulties you are experiencing, and how they make you feel is so appreciated by us. We are there with you (in spirit) – holding you up when things are not pleasant (as well as when they are)."
  • "Thank you for sharing all the feels with us."
  • "Your honesty and vulnerability is inspiring."
  • "Thank you for sharing as I realize it must be difficult."
  • "I am grateful that you shared the story. It’s part of your journey and I am your friend. I can offer an empathetic ear."
  • "You were fated to have many many representative experiences of what different people go through...And by sharing your story, you’ve reduced the stigma and loneliness others have felt in your situation."
Others gave me permission to feel down, provided assurances that I would make it through this latest challenge or made gentle suggestions about how to move forward:
  • "For what it’s worth, I think it is perfectly acceptable to grieve the return-to-normal that you might not get when you expected to get it."
  • "You're allowed to cry, scream, and even break down. Remember, it's okay not to be okay, your resilience will guide you through this tough time."
  • "It's ok to feel sadness and question "why me". It’s natural to feel overwhelmed with your situation. It’s ok to retreat for a bit."
  • "All of the positive energy you put into the universe will carry you over this speed bump. I am sure of it."
  • "I think you are giving yourself some excellent advice and remaining positive."
  • "Until you get there [the days of honey], count on the thousands who are silently sending you strength."
  • "I hope this latest concern is easily dispensed with and ends up just being a seashell in your sandal."
  • "This is truly a speed bump. I hope it is a small one."
  • "Hoping a decent path forward emerges."
  • "You got this!"
A wise friend shared a quote from Marcus Aurelius: "The impediment to action advances action. What stands in the way becomes the way." My friend explained: "This quote reminds us that setbacks are not just obstacles, but opportunities for growth and resilience."

A family member wrote: "I wish you joy today, despite the circumstances!" and added: "Just count your blessings… it works!" I did count my blessings, among them family, friends, physical health, mental health and resilience.

And I did look for joy today. I found it in the face of a baby who stared at me from his stroller as we were queued in a line—his little eyebrows crinkling as if to say, "What's your story?"

I laughed when a friend wrote to me: "I've always had a tendency to find humour in the horrible in order to cope. Like, when I was re-reading the first few lines of this post, my predominant thought was: 'The Expandable Implants' would be a good name for a punk rock band."

But he also shared a beautiful quote spoken by Merle Streep's character in the film The Hours:

I remember one morning getting up at dawn. There was such a sense of possibility. You know, that feeling. And I... I remember thinking to myself: So this is the beginning of happiness, this is where it starts. And of course there will always be more...never occurred to me it wasn't the beginning. Instead, It WAS happiness. It was the moment, right then.

This excerpt reminds me to be in the moment and to see the possibility for happiness right here, right now.

One final inspiration came via James Clear's weekly newsletter, which almost always contains a little gem pertinent to what I'm experiencing at that moment. He wrote:

Being kind to others is mostly about your actions.
Being kind to yourself is mostly about your thoughts.

And so I will try to be kind to myself by being careful with my thoughts. I'll push away contemplations of the past in which I wonder what I did wrong to bring this upon myself. And I'll avoid speculating about the future and what might happen down the road. Answers will come in time. I can still find happiness and joy in the messy middle.