[2021-01-24] Choosing an extraordinary life

In keeping with yesterday's suggestion to do something nice for someone, unexpectedly and without explanation, I made cookies for a loved one today. Because of dietary restrictions, I needed a recipe that was less dessert and more breakfast cookie. My recipe for Kitchen Sink Cookies fit the bill; these cookies are high in protein and low in fat and sugar. They won't win The Great Canadian Baking Show, but they are just what my loved one needed.

Good deeds help me feel like I'm giving backā€”being there for others who have been there for me. I am blessed to have completed the first two phases of treatment for ovarian cancer (surgery and chemotherapy) and to be feeling well enough again to perform acts of kindness.

I always assumed that I would make it through chemotherapy and beyond, but perhaps that was not a given. As someone wrote to me today: "Not everyone gets to ring that bell, and Iā€™m so glad that you got to ring yours and keep hoping!"

In addition to hoping, I want to keep helping. Doing so is not only good for others but also good for me.

I like to know what's going on in other people's lives. I like to mentor and coach young people, encouraging them as they make their way in the world. I like to celebrate the accomplishments of family and friends. And I like to support people who are having their own health challenges.

I don't want my life to be focused on just me.

Today's entry in A Year of Positive Thinkingā€”How you perceive the world is how you will liveā€”is relevant:

You can choose to focus on each awful, imperfect experience. You can assume the worst possible outcome and expect people to fail you.

Or you can allow yourself to be in awe of what is right, beautiful, sacred, and profound. You can choose to focus on what makes you feel aligned with the extraordinary life you hope for. You can expect people to surprise and delight you in the best possible ways.

What you focus on is what will become your truth. Choose wisely.

What makes me feel aligned with the extraordinary life I hope for is being a light in the lives of those I care about.